top of page


Equal Opportunity Day recognizes champions advocating for equity and social justice

(MILWAUKEE, WI || January 27, 2023) Greater Milwaukee Urban League will honor local leaders and organizations whose efforts to champion equity and social justice make Milwaukee a better community for everyone.

The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday, February 23, 2023, during the GMUL’s 62nd annual Whitney M. Young, Jr. Equal Opportunity Day luncheon at the Pfister Hotel, 424 E. Wisconsin Ave., Milwaukee 53202. Networking and registration begin at 11:30AM. The theme for Equal Opportunity Day is Entrepreneurship: A Road to Creating Jobs and Generational Wealth! The special guest speaker for the event is John Daniels, Jr., retired partner and chair emeritus, Quarles Law Firm.

The premier presenting sponsor for the day is Molson Coors. A presenting sponsor of the luncheon is iHeartMEDIA. WISN12 anchor/investigative reporter Derrick Rose is the event emcee.

Throughout 2023, GMUL will partner Molson Coors to support local entrepreneurs. The GMUL Entrepreneurship Connection will work with other nonprofit agencies to convene monthly sessions with experts to provide entrepreneurs with free access to information, capital, and support. The Connection kicks off with a panel on entrepreneurship immediately following the luncheon at 1:30PM

“Working collaboratively, we can ensure entrepreneurs have extended opportunities to build and expand their businesses,” said Greater Milwaukee Urban League President and CEO Dr. Eve M. Hall. “Building Black wealth empowers communities and changes lives.”

Tickets and sponsorships are still available. For more information and to purchase tickets or secure sponsorships, please visit

Individuals and organizations to be recognized at the luncheon for their commitment to equity are:

Whitney M. Young, Jr. Legacy Award Dr. William Finlayson Retired Physician

Corporate Advocacy Champion Award Molson Coors

Community Advocacy Champion Award Thelma A. Sias The Sias Group, LLC

Media Advocacy Award Pete Monfre Retired Vice President and General Manager Sinclair Broadcast Group, WVTV-TV (CW18 and My24) Health Advocacy Award Dr. Joseph Kerschner Dean and Executive Vice President at MCW, Professor in the School of Medicine